I was very confused in determining where Bergen is, what do they call the cities, town, province, municipality because in the Philippines, I know for sure the places and how to call them – like this:


But in Norway it’s not grouped like that. LOL. They have both administrative and political subdivisions on two levels: counties and municipalities. The Sámi people have a certain amount of self-determination and influence over traditional territories through the Sámi Parliament and the Finnmark Act. Norway maintains close ties with both the European Union and the United States. Norway is a founding member of the United NationsNATO, the European Free Trade Association, the Council of Europe, the Antarctic Treaty, and the Nordic Council; a member of the European Economic Area, the WTO, and the OECD; and a part of the Schengen Area.


Norway is divided into five sections: Northern Norway, Trøndelag, Western Norway, Southern (coast of) Norway and Eastern (part of southern) Norway

Counties = Fylker  while Municipalities = Kommuner

Norway is divided into 19 administrative regions, called counties (fylker, singular: fylke), and 426 municipalities (kommuner, singular: kommune – cf. communes).[1]The capital city Oslo is considered both a county and a municipality.

Municipalities are the atomic unit of local government in Norway and are responsible for primary education (until 10th grade), outpatient health services, senior citizen services, unemployment and other social services, zoning, economic development, and municipal roads. Law enforcement and church services are provided at a national level in Norway. Municipalities are undergoing continuous consolidation.

Screen Shot 2017-10-29 at 6.53.56 PM

You can download the list in pdf which I made here : regions, counties, municipalities

In 2017 the Norwegian government announced the merge of the existing 19 fylker into 11 regions by 2020 (and Trøndelag by 2018). Each region (plural regioner) would be led by a regionleder (region leader), which would be equivalent to the current position of fylkesmann. 

New regions
  • Region Trøndelag (By merging Sør-Trøndelag and Nord-Trøndelag in 2018)
  • Region Vestlandet* (By merging Hordaland and Sogn og Fjordane in 2020)
  • Region Agder (By merging Aust-Agder and Vest-Agder in 2020)
  • Region Skagerrak* (By merging Vestfold og Telemark in 2020)
  • Region Innlandet* (By merging Oppland og Hedmark in 2020)
  • Region Vika or Viken (By merging Buskerud, Akershus and Østfold in 2020)
  • Region Finnmark (By merging Finnmark and Northern-Troms in 2020)
  • Region Hålogaland* (By merging Nordland and Southern- and Central-Troms in 2020)
  • Region Møre og Romsdal (Stands alone, and continues as before)
  • Region Rogaland (Stands alone, and continues as before)
  • Region Oslo (Stands alone, and continues as before)
  • *Proposed names





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.